Anthony Doerr

Anthony Doerr is the author of the short story collections The Shell Collector and Memory Wall, the memoir Four Seasons in Rome, and the novels About Grace and All the Light We Cannot See. Doerr’s fiction has won four O. Henry Prizes and has been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories, The Anchor Book of New American Short Stories, and The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Fiction. He has won the Barnes & Noble Discover Prize, the Rome Prize, the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an NEA Fellowship, the National Magazine Award for Fiction, three Pushcart Prizes, the Pacific Northwest Book Award, three Ohioana Book Awards, the 2010 Story Prize, which is considered the most prestigious prize in the U.S. for a collection of short stories, and the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, which is the largest prize in the world for a single short story. In 2007, the British literary magazine Granta placed Doerr on its list of 21 Best Young American novelists.

Doerr lives in Boise, Idaho with his wife and two sons. Though he is often asked, as far as he knows he is not related to the late writer Harriet Doerr.

Become a fan of Anthony’s on Facebook and stay up to date on his latest publications by clicking here. If you’re interested in reading some of his work online, you can find essays at Orion and Condé Nast Traveler, a story at Granta, and you can watch the actor Damian Lewis reading part of Doerr’s story “The Deep” here. Or watch Martha Stewart chat with Anthony here.

For publicity inquiries, please contact Kate Lloyd at Kate.Lloyd AT

For literary rights, U.S. and foreign, please contact Amanda Urban at International Creative Management at aurban AT

7 thoughts on “Biography

  1. Anthony! I just read your short story “the caretaker” and needless to say im blown away. I’m a filmmaker and would love with your permission to adapt it into a short film… Please email me and let me know what you think. I believe this story is perfect visually and I would love to translate the words to image.

  2. Pingback: Three Novels Coming in May | The Longest Chapter

  3. I am reading All the Light We Cannot See. I felt I must interrupt my reading to tell you of my complete admiration for your storytelling skills and to thank you for this sublime work. I will be reading all your works now that I have discovered you. I am grateful to have found what resonates with such beauty in a world where it is rarely discovered. What a joy it is for me!

    J. Domangue

  4. ” All the Light We Cannot See” is one of the finest, best written novels I have ever experienced. Take for instance the chapter titled ” Are You There?” Second paragraph. Divine.
    The world needs ( and always has needed) more Fredericks.
    Mr. Doerr, if you ever have the time, I would so much appreciate a signed bookplate . Thank you.
    Bruce Sperber
    446 W. Charlotte St.
    Millersville, Pa. 17551

  5. I recently finished “Four Seasons in Rome” and enjoyed it so much. It inspires me to visit Rome, though maybe not with newborn twins.
    I hope there will come a day when your sons will read this book and realize how much care and love you and your wife put into the first year of their lives. They are so lucky.
    The way you use words is stunning.
    And thank you.
    Bruce Sperber, Lancaster, Pa.

  6. Pingback: All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr | 52 books or bust

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>